Language
Member Login
#US1007745

Washington, USA

Ready to go

Calendar

Member since

2015

Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
November 01, 2018 - October 04, 2020 2 weeks

Georgetown penthouse one bedroom apartment

Welcome to Washington DC! My one bedroom penthouse apartment is located in the best spot (Georgetown) across the street from a park and within a 5 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops in Dupont Circle. The apartment has a 24hr doorperson in a secure building. It is 81m2/870ft2 and very quiet and clean. Perfect for a couple and there's a second bed in the living room for an additional person or two. The decorations, artwork, and lighting are a bit unique as you might be able to see from the photos. The Dupont Circle metro is a 10 minute walk from the apartment so it's easy to get around without a car. Additionally, Uber is easy and cheap in DC and buses go right outside the front and the back building entrances. There are farmers markets on Wednesdays and Sundays and a grocery store (Trader Joes) within a 15 minute walk.

There are several airport options for getting here. DCA airport is the easiest since it's right in the city and only about a 15 minute drive away (taxi or Uber). The next closest is IAD, which is about 40 minutes away by car (Uber costs about $45) or about an hour if you want to take the bus and metro, but I recommend an Uber ride since it's easier. BWI airport is another option, but further. It's possible to take Amtrak or a MARC train from BWI straight from the airport to Union Station in DC (and then Uber or metro/walking combination to my place). If you happen to find a cheap flight to EWR (Newark, New Jersey), that's also an option, similar to flying into BWI, it's along the same train line that heads from DC to NY.

Laundry is provided in the basement of the apartment building ($1 for washing and for drying). There's a rooftop deck with chairs and tables. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the necessary utensils and the bathroom has a tub/shower.

A little bit about me. I'm in my early 40s and will probably be traveling by myself or with my girlfriend. I'm a scientist (geochemist) by training and currently work to facilitate and promote international science cooperation. I'm also a yoga instructor and a stand-up paddle board instructor. I like all animals and enjoy a healthy lifestyle. I should add that I'm also very neat and clean.

So far, I've done six exchanges and all worked out really well:

Tulum, September 2015, #US1004776
Seattle, September 2016, #USWA008
Goteborg, July 2016, #SE9738
Rome, August 2018, #IT1008430
Sardinia, September 2018, #IT1004010
Brugge, October 2018, #BE170

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Corey: Scientist, yoga instructor, and stand up paddleboard instructor
  • Stephanie: Musician

Our Home

  • House Type: Flat
  • Floor: top floor
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 1
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 2

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed
  • Lift/Elevator
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Renting possible

Indoor

  • Air conditioning

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Occupation

  • Corey: Scientist, yoga instructor, and stand up paddleboard instructor
  • Stephanie: Musician

Children

  • We do not have children.

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 0 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past:

Join us or Start free trial