Kensington, USA


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
August 07, 2024 - November 01, 2024 2 weeks

We are retired and have flexible schedules.


House in Quiet, Nearby Maryland Suburb of Washington, DC

We have an exchange planned for July 2024 but would consider a US/Canada exchange in August or a fall exchange just about anywhere.

We are a retired government worker and a retired teacher and have done several wonderful house exchanges. We love exploring new places and meeting the people who live there.
Our home is located just 12 kilometers north of the center of Washington, D.C. in Kensington, Maryland. Kensington is a pleasant, quiet, safe town with convenient access to downtown Washington by car or the Metro (our subway system).  The grocery store, several small shops, and a few casual restaurants are a mile away, and there are many more stores and restaurants within a 15 minute drive. It takes 30-45 minutes to get to downtown Washington by car, bus, or Metro subway. In the city you can visit the many free museums, spend time at the National Zoo, or see the many monuments and memorials that make the city distinctive.

Our home is less than a kilometer away from the Beltway, the ring road around Washington, so other areas beyond Washington are easily accessible by car. These include historical sites, family amusement parks, and the cities of Baltimore, Richmond, Williamsburg, Charlottesville, the colonial seaport Annapolis, and Philadelphia.  New York City is a three hour train ride away, and both the mountains to the west and the Atlantic Ocean beach resorts to the east are about three hours away. We have 3 international airports, each within an hour’s drive--Dulles International Airport, Reagan National Airport, and Baltimore-Washington International Airport.
Our home, on a quiet street with little traffic, has two floors plus a basement. On the ground-level floor is the living room, dining room, sun room, an office, and the family room, adjacent to the kitchen and with an eat-in dining area. There is also a powder room (WC) on this level. The floor above has 3 bedrooms (two with queen beds, one with a double bed) and an office. The master bedroom has its own bathroom; there is a second bathroom shared by the other bedrooms; there is also a laundry room with washer and dryer on the same floor as the bedrooms. In the basement there is a second family room, another bathroom, a storage room and workrooms.  The shady backyard has a patio.

The house has Wifi; it also has whole-house air conditioning.  We have a comfortable small Subaru Crosstrek that will be available for your use.  We have two cats, very lovable and sweet, who do not go outside. They enjoy company and are friendly. Neighbors will feed them when house exchange guests are gone overnight. We are non-smokers and do not permit smoking in or near the house.

We enjoy sightseeing, exploring the countryside, visiting villages and towns, shopping in markets, and learning the history of the places we visit. We can be depended on to take good care of your home and any pets you may have!

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 22 Exchanges made


  • Retired/Retired
  • Retired/Retired

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 2


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Denmark
  • Sweden
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • United States

Spoken Languages

  • English


  • Retired/Retired
  • Retired/Retired


  • We do not have children.


  • We have two three-year old indoor cats, very friendly and sociable.


This member has completed 22 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: