Chelsea, Canada

Country Home between forest and river in the National Capital region

Country Home between forest and river in the National Capital region


Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 72 hoursfast replier
Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 01, 2024 - August 19, 2024 2 weeks

Flexible dates and length of stay during July / August, as these are our summer holidays.


Country house between river and forest in Canada's Capital Region

Welcome to Chelsea, Quebec!
Discover the Canadian English and French hertiage in visit Quebec "La belle Province", close to the country capital Ottawa.
Our home is 2 floors with lots of space on a 2 acres tree filled lot. It is child friendly with games and ample indoor and outdoor space. There is a large deck off the kitchen, an outdoor sauna, vegetable garden, fire pit and wood stove inside (also central heating). We have bikes, a canoe, kayaks, and SUP for use.
We are within walking distance to Gatineau River and a community dock with a canoe, kayaks and SUP, and excellent swimming. The other direction is Gatineau Park with hiking, biking, or skiing/snowshoeing trails and several lakes for water sports.
Car exchange is possible.

Generally, Chelsea is reached by a flight into Ottawa; or by a flight into Montreal, then bus/train to Ottawa/Gatineau.

Our Town
Our town, Chelsea, is a uniquely placed oasis in nature, close to Ottawa, giving a well rounded experience of rural country living in a quaint town, close by tourist attractions and our country's capital, Ottawa. Our Chelsea is completely bilingual, French and English. We are sandwiched between Gatineau Park and Gatineau river in a community based town with bike trails, local markets and fine dining.

In the Area
Ottawa, 20 minutes diving, offers a variety of museums, festivals, Parliament, Rideau canal (skating in winter) and other cultural experiences. Montreal is 2 hours driving and Quebec City and Toronto are both 4.5 hours driving.,Summer

Our Family
We are an active family of 4 with two teenage girls. Over the years, we have worked and lived overseas in Australia, Colombia, England and The Netherlands. We're looking for adventures, international connections and local experiences in new places.
Joe is a High School teacher and Laura is an Elementary school teacher in Ottawa. Our teenager kids attend a local high-school and CEGEP (pre-University). We have 2 sweet cats that love to sleep and chase chipmunks.
Traveling and connecting with new cultures is important to us. We are nature lovers and enjoy hiking, canoeing, biking, cross country skiing and anything else that connects us to the outdoors. Our teenagers join us but prefer the idea of visiting a busy city with new cultures and experiences. We would love a balance of the two.

There are many things to see and experience in Chelsea, in the province of Quebec and in Canada.
We would be happy to help you organize your experience here and truly showcase Canada.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 6 Exchanges made


  • Teachers

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 190 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Bicycles: 6


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • New Zealand
  • Netherlands
  • Denmark
  • Canada
  • Ireland
  • France
  • Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español


  • Teachers


  • Girl - Age: 19
  • Girl - Age: 17


  • cats


This member has completed 6 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: