San Francisco, USA

our San Francisco neighborhood

our San Francisco neighborhood


Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates


A cozy San Francisco family home in the vibrant, popular and colorful neighborhood, Bernal Heights, next to the Mission district.

We are at the intersection of Bernal Heights and the Mission District, walking distance to beautiful vistas, coffee houses, nightclubs, galleries, cultural centers, used bookstores, Nicaraguan and El Salvadoran taquerias, as well as bistros and Thai restaurants. 10 bus lines stop at the end of our block, which take you to every other neighborhood in the city. Our metro (BART, Bay Area Rapid Transit) s 6 blocks away. Our neighborhood is a combination of young Google and Apple employees, (Google Bus stops on our corner!) as well as Latino immigrant families, older empty nesters, many political activists. Beautiful weather.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • psychiatric social worker and builder

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 1 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality offered
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Guitar
  • Other musical instruments


  • Balcony
  • Park / playground
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 3

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Dublin, Ireland
  • Province of Palermo, Italy
  • Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
  • Cusco, Peru
  • Inverness, UK

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español
  • Русский

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: SF International Airport (SFO) - 10 miles from our home


  • psychiatric social worker and builder


  • We do not have children.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We have been in San Francisco almost 40 years, raising our son here. I am a native of the Big Sur coast, just two hours south of San Francisco, and Colin is from Detroit, Michigan. We have three grandchildren and we both still are still working: Colin is self-employed as a carpenter and I work for the Department of Psychiatry at the University of California, San Francisco.
I worked in the USSR in my youth, as a journalist, and spent time as a child in Latin America, so I am multi-lingual.

We are very involved in the San Francisco arts and literacy scene, I volunteer with 826 Valencia, a tutuoring center for immigrant kids, and I perform at the Marsh, a storytelling space.
We walk and bike through the city and hike frequently in the extraordinary beauty of the surrounding counties, and are happy to share our deep knowledge of San Francisco art, architecture, social and political history, and our love of our city.

Translate this


Our home and area in San Francisco are great for the urban archaeologist, for people who love to see the way economics and politics affect world class cities. 20 years ago our neighborhood was poor and working class. When we bought our home, it was a bit of a gamble. Now, our neighborhood is the most popular in San Francisco: for its sunny skies, gourmet restaurants village like atmosphere, and easy access to the gorgeous California North Coast: towns of Half Moon Bay, Santa Cruz.
We live now in a San Francisco that is home to the most wealthy millionaires( Mark Zuckerberg, founder of Facebook lives in a mansion he built in our neighborhood) and some of the most poor (due to the increase in rent prices because of the popularity of this area.) Young people are moving here in droves, to work for the tech companies headquartered here, while artists and poets and musicians struggle to survive. There is so much beauty in our hills, the incomparable geography of San Francisco is unchanged since the gold rush.

Translate this


This member has completed 2 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: