Back
ES230160

Santa Margarida de Montbui, Spain

The village.

The village.

Human towers at the village main square.

Human towers at the village main square.

La Tossa pre-romanesque church (5 minutes by car)

La Tossa pre-romanesque church (5 minutes by car)

The village. Human towers at the village main square. La Tossa pre-romanesque church (5 minutes by car)
Silver

Member since

2012

Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
August 03, 2019 - August 25, 2019 2 weeks

Looking for a family South of Dublin (Ireland) to host our young daugther during her Transition Year studies (August 2019-May 2020)

Hi Intervac members: we love our village and area, and look forward to having someone else enjoy it too!

Our three floor house is very nice and is located in a quite small village (800 inhabitants) 60 km far from Barcelona.

The living room (with fireplace), kitchen (with a small pantry and overlooking a terrace) and a toilet are located in the first floor. On the second floor there are the master bedroom, the girls bedrooms and a bathroom with bath and shower. On the third floor there is a studio and a terrace. Laundry facilities (washing machine, clothes dryer and iron) have a special area devoted to them in the kitchen. At the back of the garage (where there is a piano) ovelooks a sunny courtyard: the perfect place for summer evening diners. The house is equipped with central heating. Our neighbourhood is very peaceful, with kind and friendly neighbours. If you want to stay at home, there are plenty of books and National Geographic magazines (in English) to read.

On a walking distance you will find a small foodshop and bakery, a bar, the church and a private sports club with outdoor swimming pool & tennis/paddel courts): use our tennis/paddle rackets+membership card to play some matches there (http://www.clublesmoreres.cat/el-club). There is also a children’s playground 150 m. from our house.

The main sights to visit in our village are the pre-romanesque (XIth century) church and the castle of La Tossa. Both monuments were erected when the area was at the border between the Christian and Muslim worlds (the Hispanic March).

In Igualada (the main city in the area, 3 kms away) you will find all you need (big supermarkets, petrol stations, hospital, restaurants,...). In earlier days Igualada was famous for its textile and leather industry.

Our house is a good starting point to explore places like Barcelona, Sitges and Vilanova i la Geltrú beaches, Penedès area (wine and champagne production), the Cistercian monasteries of Poblet, Santes Creus and Vallbona de les Monges or Tarraco Roman remains (Unesco world heritage site). Nature is within reach: from the white pine Mediterranean forests just 5 minutes on foot to Montserrat natural park or Pyrenees mountains. Use the bikes in the garage (2 for adults, 2 for 10-12 years old) to discover the nature around us! If you ever wondered about walking along Saint James' way, you can taste it walking from Montserrat monastery to Igualada (around 20 km-5 hours on foot).

Travel distances by car: Montserrat mountain (20 minutes), Sitges beach (35 minutes), Barcelona (50 minutes), Tarragona (1 hour). Travel distances by train: Barcelona (1h30, train station 5 minutes by car), Madrid (3h by high speed train; train station: 1h by car).

Wi-Fi net (optic fiber) in all the house. The living room (smart TV connected to a Wii console) and kitchen have all the appliances. Smart TV in master bedroom connected to an Apple TV set. iMac Apple computer (studio). Netflix subscription.

Car to exchange: Renault Kangoo (5 seats).

No smoking allowed. We can’t exchange houses with families who have pets either, because of allergies (so please, did NOT BRING ANY ANIMALS with you).

We could only exchange during school breaks: Easter (non simultaneous), summer (preferably August) and Christmas.

We reply to all emails!
.......................................................

Some links about tourism around Montbui:

La Tossa mountain (Santa Margarida de Montbui): http://www.latossa.cat/latossa.php?id=9&lang=texto_ing

Igualada: http://www.igualadaturisme.cat/img/img/LA%20PELL%20DE%20LA%20CIUTAT%20angles%202009.pdf

Igualada leather museum: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=XyT88oIIb2o

Anoia area: http://anoiaturisme.cat/en/

Montserrat: http://www.montserratvisita.com/en/index.html

Saint James' way: http://www.camidesantjaume.cat/index_ing.php

Spanish civil war memorial: http://www.exercitpopular.org/en/

Wine & champagne production area: http://www.enoturismepenedes.cat/en

Sitges beach & modernism art: http://www.visitsitges.com/en/

Poblet Ciscercian monastery: http://www.poblet.cat/index.php?&&&&ZW4%3D

Barcelona: http://www.barcelonaturisme.com/wv3/en/

Roman Tarraco: http://www.tarragonaturisme.cat/en

Theme & water park: https://www.portaventuraworld.com/en

Pyrenees: http://www.visitpirineus.com/Html/Ingles

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • Science teacher
  • Epidemiologist

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Youth exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 4

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Berlin, Germany
  • Cornwall, UK
  • Devon, UK
  • Wales, UK
  • London, UK
  • New York, NY, USA
  • Lisbon, Portugal
  • Greece
  • Lofoten, Norway
  • Finland
  • Basque Country, Spain
  • Canary Islands, Spain
  • Sicily, Italy
  • Prague, Czechia
  • Brittany, France
  • Normandy, France

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español

Occupation

  • Science teacher
  • Epidemiologist

Children

  • Girl - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 15

Pets

  • Freshwater aquarium with some plants and fishes.
  • Some house martins nesting on the roof

References

This member has completed 4 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: