Chinley, Great Britain

Terrace patio area

Terrace patio area

View of Eccles Pike from the back of the house

View of Eccles Pike from the back of the house

Our home in the country with solar panels

Our home in the country with solar panels


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
May 25, 2024 - December 31, 2024 1

Available for weekend exchanges in the UK and Europe as well as Christmas 2024/25 Currently seeking an exchange for Easter 2024


Peak District Family Home

Our home is a modest and practical 3-bed room house located in the small Derbyshire village of Chinley, with stunning views of the Peak District landscapes on your doorstep. Watch horse rider and tractors pass our home.
Chinley is an excellent base to explore the North West of England as well as Yorkshire and the Midlands.
From our home you have lots of walking and cycling routes that include the village of Edale (start of the Pennine Way), Kinder Scout (start of the Right to Roam movement) as well as a canal path that takes you to the National Trust's Lyme Park.
We also less than 30 minutes car journey from the spa town of Buxton, Eyam (plague village), Goyt Valley, Mam Tor, the caves of Castleton, Macclesfield Forest and Chatworths House.
For families we are just 60 minutes car journey from Alton Towers, the musuems of Manchester, Sheffield and Liverpool as well as Crich Tramway Museum and lots of ice cream farms.
The village benefits from a regular and scenic train service to Sheffield with lots of stop at walking desitnations. London is a 3 hour train ride away.
Manchester Airport is 30 minutes car drive away.

Cosy and welcoming home that has wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. Off road parking with electric charging.
Open plan living downstairs with generous sized kitchen and living space with french doors that open up into our back garden terrace. Oak flooring, real fire, smart TV, internet, board games, SONOS and central heating.
Upstairs two double bedroom and one single cabin bedroom. Large bathroom with walk-in shower and large bath with sky light. Separate toilet.
Back garden terrace with built-in stone oven, seating area and covered seating area with lights. Fruit trees in the garden on second terrace that leads to a green roof shoffice (Martin works from home).

Currently restricted to school holidays and long weekends. In the UK we like to travel with our well behaved Spaniel. We welcome well behaved dogs yet ask that they do not go on the furniture or upstairs.

We look forward to hearing from you. 
Claire and Martin

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Compliance Manager
  • Teaching Assistant

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 1


  • Non-smoking house
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Bristol, UK
  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Greece
  • Morocco
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Turkey

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Manchester - 16 miles


  • Compliance Manager
  • Teaching Assistant


  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Girl - Age: 16


  • springer spaniel dog