Hitchin, Great Britain

The front of our house

The front of our house


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
April 01, 2024 - April 14, 2024 1 weeks

We'd like to find a European break, ideally somewhere warm in Europe, for Easter next year. We would be bringing 2 grandparents with us so would be 4 adults + 2 children in total.

July 31, 2024 - September 01, 2024 2 weeks

Spacious, tranquil four bedroom family home in historic town 30 minutes from London or Cambridge

Our house is a spacious four bedroom family home in a quiet enclave of Hitchin, a charming market town which is a 30 minute train ride from central London, and 30 minutes from Cambridge in the other direction.

From our house, you can take a 10 minute walk into Hitchin town centre which offers plenty of great restaurants, boutiques, traditional pubs and bars, parks and sports facilities. We're also close to several large supermarkets for food shopping. The surrounding Hertfordshire countryside is just on our doorstep, with its gently rolling hills and stately homes; great for refreshing walks and days out. Cambridge is also 30 minutes away by train if you fancy visiting one of the world's oldest universities and having a punt on the river.

Our home is detached with two floors. It has a large kitchen-dining area, a separate sitting room, study, utility room and toilet downstairs; and four bedrooms and a family bathroom upstairs, as well as a newly renovated ensuite bathroom to the master bedroom (with bath and great shower). Three of the bedrooms have double beds, and the fourth bedroom has a single bed and a cot.

We have a quiet, private garden at the back with children's play equipment and a table and chairs for al fresco eating in the summer. It's totally enclosed so very safe for children to play in. The neighbourhood is peaceful and quiet.

We have plenty of baby / toddler equipment - high chairs, toys, games, etc. We also have stair gates at the top and bottom of our stairs, which means you can relax if you have small children like us!

We have fast wifi and all the usual TV streaming services.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • Sustainability Director
  • Civil Servant

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In a small town
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 7
  • Living Area: 185 m2
  • Total Area: 185 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Other musical instruments


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 1


  • Non-smoking house
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Andorra
  • France
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • Austria
  • Sweden
  • Denmark
  • Finland

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Español


  • Sustainability Director
  • Civil Servant


  • Girl - Age: 4
  • Girl - Age: 6


  • We do not have pets.


This member has completed 4 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: