Rathangan, County Kildare., Ireland





Lounge Bright and Area 3 aspects

Lounge Bright and Area 3 aspects

Kitchen Diner

Kitchen Diner

B1 Bedroom Queen in Large bedroom accessible by Lift, Lounge TV Area, Wetroom en suite

B1 Bedroom Queen in Large bedroom accessible by Lift, Lounge TV Area, Wetroom en suite

Christmas Skiing in the Pyrenees

Christmas Skiing in the Pyrenees


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
January 01, 2024 - September 30, 2024 3 days

UK short break 2-3 days

October 01, 2024 - April 01, 2025 1 weeks

Retired couple V Flexible on dates Europe Cities Coast Med

March 01, 2025 - October 01, 2025 3 weeks

Australia New Zeeland Japan Winter for Summer


Bright Modern Home on a Horse farm in County Kildare, Ireland

Our home is a bright, airy and easy to manage farm house, built in 2000 and modernised in 2022. It covers 250 sq m (2750 sq ft) and sleeps 8 in 4 large bedrooms. It sits in a 5,000 m. of gardens. It is at the heart of a small horse farm. It is in a quiet safe rural setting close to a town. The home is very easy to manage. It is a superb place to relax. You'll enjoy the most spectacular sunsets on patio of hot summer evenings. Just relax no care required. The lawns are cut weekly by our gardener.

The house is in the centre of a small farm surrounded by our own paddocks. There are roads and walkways between all the fields where horses and cattle graze. We keep a few riding horses and ponies for ourselves and our grandchildren. All animals are minded by our neighbours or my son who lives close by. Three of my adult children live within 500m.

All the wildlife on our farm is protected. Our garden is full of songbirds and we have developed a small 2 ha linear mixed amenity woodland along our boundary which ends in a larger more diverse wetland area. This and the adjoining Grand Canal plays host to a lot of wildlife. There are hares, foxes and rabbits to be seen from the house and many resident birds; most notably clutches of beautiful pheasants in the summer, overhead you'll hear and see our magnificent buzzards and if lucky you might locate an elusive woodpecker which resides just 100 m from our back door. The Grand Canal Greenway which runs along the farm's northern boundary is a magical amenity with a track for walkers and bicycles. It is one of the area's great wildlife corridors. Here you'll find herons, swans, water hens and the lucky and very sharp eyed may even catch a glimpse of the brilliantly coloured Kingfisher. On the other hand, there are many beautiful wild orchids to be found at your leisure. At one corner of our farm there is a feeder stream for the canal and a magnificent waterfall that is in the process of being restored to its former glory.

Our home sits just 2 km outside the small but well appointed town of Rathangan (2,500 persons). The town has all the amenities you need: ATM, small supermarkets, pubs, playground, river, churches, petrol station, post office a range of fast food - takeaways. etc. One pub serves good food on the Sundays and a few have bands playing most weekends. It is a superbly convenient base for touring the whole country. The M 7 motorway & Kildare town are less than 10 minutes away. Kildare is a transport hub, Mainline and suburban trains (45min to centre of Dublin city), Buses direct to Dublin and Dublin Airport (1 hour).

We have enjoyed 6 very successful exchanges and all our visitors have thoroughly enjoyed themselves here.
1. La Baule, FR: Family of 5. 5 th. Floor Holiday Apartment on Beach, Centre of fabulous French seaside resort

2. Norfolk Virginia, USA: Family of 3, Large Urban Residence with a private dock and boat on river US720780
3. Marin County, San Francisco, USA: Family of 4: Executive Residence in gated Community US1147
4. Central Verona, Italy, Young Couple and baby + grandparents: two bed apartment in an Ancient Palazzo in the old city, 100m from Arena, main city Square and Opera.
5. Brugges, Belgium: Family of 5. Suburban House 300m from beach in Blankenberg.

6. Vienna, Austria: City Centre apartment for 4 days before skiing in a nearby mountain resort

We can supply contact details on request.

We have two Cars: A 2015 Hyundai Santa fe (2.2L manual 7 seater) and a 2015 Land Cruiser (3TD 5 seats) both in PMO.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 5 Exchanges made


  • Teacher
  • Rural Development Consultant - Farmer

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 4
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Living Area: 250 m2
  • Total Area: 5000 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 3


  • Non-smoking house
  • Lift/Elevator
  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Europe
  • North America
  • United Kingdom
  • France

Spoken Languages

  • English


  • Teacher
  • Rural Development Consultant - Farmer


  • We do not have children.


  • 1 working farm dog: Collie Sheep Dog who lives in adjacent Farm Yard (no Pet Care required)
  • 1 Pony who lives in adjacent field (no care required)

About Our Family

We are an active mature semi retired couple.  All four of our children are adults and have left home.  We have six young grandchildren, who regularly visit and often stay over. So the house is set up for them. There are Lots of Toys, Paints, Swings, outdoor play Kitchen, even the odd friendly pony.

Our eldest son Gavin is married with two boys and a girl. They live just 500 meters away at the other end of the farm. He will take care of any questions you may have. Our youngest daughter Emily, a retail manager, her partner and baby Charlie live in a bungalow just 100m away across the paddocks. Our other son Tadgh, Professional Musician, Teacher and part time farmer, has a very friendly sheep dog and they live in the yard adjoining the house. The dog is bedded down in our stable yard each night and can be housed all the time is necessary. He is a yard dog and does not enter the house. My son will take full care of him and any stock on the farm. There is no pet/animal care needed. Just enjoy.

Translate this


We are an active retired couple with a wide range of interests and activities. Our life revolves around family, the farm and horses.

The whole family enjoys equestrian activities horse riding, trekking, racing etc. Aine enjoys Tennis, Golf, Walking, swimming and Cycling. Padraig is an avid gardener who likes swimming. We also like to ski when we can get away to the snow.

We have four children, three of whom are married with children. Three live on the farm and can be called upon if you need any assistance while you stay with us. Susie our eldest is a nurse married with two children and lives about 30 minutes away. Sometimes we holiday as a family, beachside in Ireland. We have 6 grandchildren so our home is quite child friendly. It is toddler proof (& Play Pen) and has many Thinks to keep them interested and engaged. Books, Board Games, Dolls, Lego, Paints and a rocking horse. Outside we have a large garden and lawn area with football nets, swings, trees, secret passages, fairy Doors, safe hiding spots etc. The childrens' bedroom (no. 4) has Bunk Beds, Board Games etc. We have bed sides, high chairs, play pen, plastic cups and dishes.

We live on a stud horse farm. We have recently retired from breeding and racing thoroughbreds. Now, we just keep sport horses and a few ponies for the grandchildren. We love hacking our hunters around the countryside. We have a small cross country course on the farm. I rode showjumped, rode races and hunted but have had to retire. Aine is still very active. She rides most days enjoys the company of her many friends.

We love to travel. We are both active. Aine is the most active Rinding walking swimming tennis golf while Padraig is more sedentry. Very fond of garden and house design.

We regularly gather the extended family around the kitchen table Seats 8/10 for lunch and in summer enjoy gathering everyone for a B B Q's on the patio. We are very close and often holiday together as a unit at the beach or on the slopes.

Translate this


This member has completed 5 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: