The river downtown

The river downtown

Main computer in the guest-room

Main computer in the guest-room

The Mayenne river and  the castle ( museum)

The Mayenne river and the castle ( museum)

The back of the house and terrace

The back of the house and terrace

The river downtown Main computer in the guest-room The Mayenne river and  the castle ( museum) The back of the house and terrace

Member since


Usually responds to exchange requests in less than 36 hoursfast replier
Unavailable for exchange at the moment
Exchange dates Duration
May 04, 2020 - September 13, 2020 2 weeks

3 semaines ou plus si nous allons sur un autre continent

Comfortable house in North West of France, MAYENNE, very close to Normandy & Brittany& to many places of interest

Mayenne is a pleasant, liveable city of 15 000 inhabitants,on a river which bears the same name as the city.
From our house it takes no more than 10 minutes 'walk to reach the center with its market-place, its castle and  garden, the basilica, the old mansions . So it's really close to downtown and not isolated at all.
Our house overlooks the valley and the river, just across the street.

It is much larger than it looks on the photo as an addition which can't be seen from the street was built at the back.It looks out on the garden and terrace. It almost doubles the size of the house .Once you have climbed the entrance steps , it's all on the same level .We have a large basement a part of which is used as a garage.
The addition includes two bedrooms and a bathroom with bath and shower , which makes it pracically .independent. In fact " we have four bedrooms, all with double beds.".There are two independent toilets upstairs and one in the basement..
We will find all modern appliances in our house.

Mayenne has its own museum opened up only a few years ago  in its old Merovingian  castle .
You can also visit a Roman city, Jublains, at 10km from Mayenne and its beautiful modern museum .
Bagnoles de l'Orne, at 35 km from us, a spa with thermal springs is a must as it's so picturesque and so lively in summer, even on sundays . It boasts of a casino.
Laval, where the fast train from Paris( called TGV )stops, is only 30 km distant from our city.
Paris isn't really far ( 3h 15 by car, 1h40 by TGV) .
Close to us, in Brittany, you can visit medieval cities like Fougères and Vitré ( 45 minutes'drive).
Within one hour 's drive you can be in Rennes, the capital of Brittany, or Le Mans,or in Normandy . You can make a day-trip to some  Loire châteaux . Famous St Malo, on the north coast of Brittany. can be reached by freeway in 1h 50, & ANGERS  in (1h40) .We are within two hours at most from Caen and the Normandy  beaches.Well-known  St Michael's Mount is a 1h20 drive.
But you needn't drive long distances every day, there are many places worth seeing at short distances.
Mayenne,known for its printing-works ,  is also  a modern city which offers many cultural and sporting activities,  .We have a camping- ground at 300 m from our house, and a brand new swimming-pool called " the Wave" that was opened up in February 2018. a large, new library, a theater., a movie-house with three roms.
If you like hiking there are many possibilities .
Mayenne and its area are  places where it's good to live.

 As to exchanges, we definitely prefer cities, middle-sized or even large ones, but are open to every offer, from any country.

. We are open to all offers,in Europe or even on other continents..

As to children, we'd rather not have very young children staying, but don't mind when they are a little older.

We sometimes have our adult children pay us a visit during a house exchange .if our exchange-partners agree, naturally (but now we have a grandchild , still too young to travel))... We might be four adults. but .I don't think itt'll be the case in 2019.
In case of an exchange with the South hemisphere, we would prefer one the last three months of the year and, in that case a non simultaneous exchange could be arranged for our partners as our house is large enough for hosts to have independence.It has worked twice.

When we exchange our main car, it's a Toyota Verso which can sit 5 adults comfortably. It's a manual transmission car

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 35 Exchanges made


  • retired English teacher
  • retired English teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 0
  • Environment: In the city
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6
  • Living Area: 120 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom
  • Italy
  • Belgium

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Deutsch


  • retired English teacher
  • retired English teacher


  • We do not have children.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

 We have two adult children, a son and a daughter who are both married .
When possible we like  either our adult  children to come and visit us during part of our exchange , with the permission of our exchange-partner, naturally.And there are never more than 2 persons in addition to us.

But this summer there will be only the two of us ..,

Our house is large enough to accomodate 4 adults. and we have doubled beds in all our bedrooms.


During the year we take advantage , since we are retired, of the cultural activities of our city and of our area, attend conferences on a wide variety of subjects and also sign up for series of more special courses , like history of music, art , history , philosophy scientific subjects etc...
We are interested in culture , visiting museums of all kinds, monuments, Jacqueline likes operas .We both love meeting foreigners as we know several foreign languages. and learning about their way of life. We have friends all over the world, from Australia , the USA, Europe. Human contacts add a lot .
We enjoy walking , discovering nature and beautiful sights and seeing the world. We are lucky to have been on several continents , including Asia, but not always through exchanges.
Although we appreciate nature, we don't want to stay in isolated places , prefer to be in a city or very close to one.

Our  Last exchanges:
Moscow , July-August 2018
Mainz, Germany, July 2017
Arlington, VA ,USA, August 2016
Bremen Germany, July 2016
Netherlands, August 2015
Los Angeles, June-July 2014
Rent in Canary Islands with Intervac member, August 2013
Salt Lake Ciy July 2012
August 2011:South Spain.
Summer 2010: San Francisco;
Autumn 2010: Australia