New Plymouth, New Zealand

View from Wallace Place

View from Wallace Place

Geoff & Marianne

Geoff & Marianne

View from Wallace Place Geoff & Marianne

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

A beautiful character home in a quiet mature suburb within five minutes walk of town

Built as a Doctor's home in the 1920s, this charming 160 sq m Edwardian Style three bedroom / two bathroom home is being extensively refurbished in a style sympathetic with the era. Heat pumps and a log burner keep the home cool in summer and warm in winter; extensive professionally designed and executed landscaping provides easy indoor/outdoor flow and a weather shielded area allows al fresco dining for eight months of the year. The use of a strong, restful colour palette tastefully lit by chandeliers provides a very comfortable living environment. The kitchen / dining and laundry areas are the last to be renovated (awaiting Architect's Plans) and should be completed by March 2020.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 1 Exchanges made


  • Retired Financial Planner (Geoff), Personal Style Consultant (Marianne)

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Living Area: 75 m2
  • Total Area: 150 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Garage
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • New Orleans, LA, USA
  • New York, NY, USA
  • France
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Scandinavia

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Français
  • Dutch

Our Neighbourhood


  • Retired Financial Planner (Geoff), Personal Style Consultant (Marianne)


  • Girl - Age: 26
  • Girl - Age: 46
  • Girl - Age: 48


  • Cat
  • Dog

About Our Family

Marianne & I are a widely travelled mature couple approaching retirement from our own businesses of 30 years. We have three adult daughters and four grandchildren, a cat (Bruce) and a Spoodle (dog) named Dougal. Our interests include fashion, hiking, music, astronomy, wine and culture (the arts, ballet, opera and recitals/concerts) Marianne speaks Dutch, Geoff speaks some French and we both speak English as our primary language.


This member has completed 1 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: