Lake Macquarie, Australia

Ready to go

Member since


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

A bungalow 15 mins leisurely walk from shores of Lake Macquarie, 100kms north of Sydney CBD. Available for exchange August/September/October 2019

Brick bungalow, 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, study, open plan living area, outdoor living area. Set among other brick homes in a quiet neighbourhood. Short walk to the lake, 10 mins drive to shopping mall, 15 mins drive to surfing beaches, 45 mins drive to the Hunter Vally Vineyards, I hour drive north to Port Stephens recreational area, 2 hr drive south to Sydney CBD, 40 mins drive to Newcastle airport, 20 mins drive to railway station.

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made


  • retirees

Our Home

  • House Type: Single storey home
  • Environment: In the suburbs
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Garage


  • Suitable for disabled people
  • Car necessary

Our Destination Wish List

  • New Hampshire, USA
  • Connecticut, USA
  • Massachusetts, USA
  • Niagara Falls, NY, USA
  • Toronto, ON, Canada
  • Nova Scotia, Canada

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Newcastle - 37.3 klms

Valentine is a suburb on the shores of Lake Macquarie, the largest salt water lake in the southern hemisphere. 15 mins walk from my home brings you to the shore of the lake where there is a large park. There is a bowling club situated on the shore too where you can have a meal, drinks, coffee and cake while you watch the sun go down. The club also has a courtesy bus to drive you home. There are shops within 5, 10 or 15 minutes drive of my home depending how big a complex you wish to use.


  • retirees


  • We do not have children.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

I live in the home in Valentine by myself now. We purchased it as our retirement home. My husband has since passed away.

My cousin, who will be travelling with me (also retired), lives in Asquith, a northern Sydney suburb. It is 1 hr and 10 mins drive between our homes on the highway. She has 3 children, all married who live nearby to her.

I have a daughter living on Norfolk Island, 2 1/2 hour flight from Sydney. She has a cabin in the rainforest below her house. She is also happy for you to use this (just needs to be reimbursed for gas and electricity usage). It is full of history and beauty.

I have a daughter living in UK. I have 3 stepchildren, all married with children. One family lives 10mins away.


I love where I live. Lake Macquarie and the surrounding areas are beautiful and interesting places: the lake, the Pacific Ocean foreshore, the Hunter River, the Hunter Valley and its vineyards, the popular tourist attractions at Port Stephens 1 hour drive north, Sydney and its many features 2 hrs south.

I regularly meet friends at Warners Bay and the city foreshore for coffee and cake or lunches. Warners Bay is 10mins drive from my home along the lake edge. In Newcastle city there are many restaurants and cafes on the bank of the Hunter River that enters the Pacific Ocean at Nobbys Lighthouse (pictured). Both these ares have walking and bike tracks.