County Limerick, Ireland


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
July 01, 2024 - July 31, 2024 2 weeks

Spacious, Modern, Rural House Close to City

Our family home is located 20 minutes from Limerick City in a quiet, rural area. It is a large home consisting of 325 sq. m. of living space. There is a very large garden surrounding the house. The house is bright and spacious and contains all the conveniences for an enjoyable holiday whether you are travelling with or without children.

Our house has four comfortable bedrooms upstairs each with an ensuite bathroom. The main bathroom is also upstairs.
We have a large, well equipped kitchen downstairs. There are two large comfortable sitting rooms, a toilet and a utility room. We have WiFi, Sky TV, Netflix, Disney+ and Amazon Prime. There is also a PS4 available to use. We have a home gym with a squat rack, olympic bar and a large range of dumbbells and kettlebells.

There is a patio table with 6 chairs outside which we love to use on fine days. There is also a barbecue for you to use.

Our home is 20 minutes from Limerick City (Population 100,000) Limerick is a modern city with lots of shopping centres, restaurants, cinemas, swimming pools and adventure centres. It is also a very historical and cultural city. The city is home to the famous Hunt Museum, King John's Castle and The Treaty Stone. Bunratty and Dromoland Castles are less than 30 minutes from Limerick. Limerick City has a fantastic market and is also famous for it's pubs where you can relax and unwind. Limerick is the sporting capital of Ireland and is home to the Munster Rugby Team. The University of Limerick is situated on the banks of The River Shannon. It is a beautiful place to enjoy a family walk or cycle as there are miles of paths around the campus particularly along by the river itself.

Our house is 2 minutes or 1 mile from one of Ireland's major historical sites, Lough Gur. The lake is known as "The Enchanted Lake" and there are numerous archaeological sites nearby including a wedge tomb, stone forts and Ireland's largest stone circle. There is a 500 feet high hill overlooking the lake. It is a nice climb to get to the top where you will have a beautiful view of the countryside.

If you are looking to travel further Limerick is situated in the beautiful province of Munster.
There are many sites worth exploring that are between 1 and 2 hours drive. The Cliffs of Moher, The Lakes of Killarney and Killarney National Park, The Ring of Kerry, The Dingle Peninsula, The Skellig Islands, The Rock of Cashel and The Burren (a vast limestone/karst area) are world famous sites. Most of these sites are on Ireland's Wild Atlantic Way, a tourist trail along the West Coast of Ireland spanning 2,500 kilometres. Cork City and the towns of Killarney, Dingle and Tralee in County Kerry are worth a visit. Counties Kerry, Clare and Cork contain numerous beautiful beaches where watersports can be enjoyed. There are multiple golf courses within 30 minutes of our house. Mountain Biking in the Ballyhoura Mountains is also recommended. Please see the links below which give a flavour of what Limerick and Munster has to offer.
We are 40 minutes from Shannon Airport, 1½ hours from Cork and Kerry Airports and 2½ hours from Dublin Airport. Ireland is a relatively small country and Dublin is easily accessible by car or public transport and is definitely worth a trip.
We are open to all offers. Looking forward to hearing from you!
Olive and Paul

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 3 Exchanges made


  • Primary School Teachers

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 6
  • Sleeping Capacity: 8
  • Total Area: 325 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano


  • Garden
  • BBQ
  • Garage / private parking
  • Bicycles: 4


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • France
  • Italy

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Gaelic


  • Primary School Teachers


  • Boy - Age: 22
  • Boy - Age: 19
  • Boy - Age: 13


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 boys aged 19, 16 and 10. We are both teachers. We are all very interested in the outdoors and love nothing better than family walks, cycles and hiking. Our older boys are hugely interested in sport particularly soccer and cycling. We love to travel when we get a chance and enjoy family holidays in other countries.

Translate this


This member has completed 3 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: