Kolari, Finland

Big familyhouse with 4 bedrooms.

Big familyhouse with 4 bedrooms.

Our house in the summer.

Our house in the summer.

Winter January.

Winter January.


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
November 04, 2024 - December 31, 2024 2 weeks

We are open to any destination and period from 1 week up to month in the end of 2024. Specially on december or even to new year.


Year 2024 fully booked, if intrested exchanges goes to 2025- familyhouse in Finland, Lapland near Sweden border and skicenter Ylläs

If you want to experience a sunny skiingholiday, cold and dark winterdays with northern lights, snow and santa at christmas, colorful autumn in the woods and fells or fresh summer with midnight sun here in Finland send us a message! We are open to ALL destinations.

Intrested in snow or skiing? Or maybe midnight sun and trekking? Dont hesitate to contact, we are willing to see every part of the word, yours too. :)
We are open for all countries and dates, city or countryside, sun or snow. Love to travel and show different places and cultures. Because of the exploring nature of our journeys, we are not intrested to swap for a just few days. But if you want to explore Finnish Lapland for a week or two or month, dont hesitate to contact. :)

If you want to enjoy snow, we have it from november to at least end of april. In the march and april we have lots of sun too, november and december are quite dark and polar night (but not colorless) just stars, moon and aurora lights shining, end of the year in january and february we usually have feisty cold, sometimes -30 decrees celsius. Summer here comes late, its quite chilly in may and early june. In the summer there is of course endless day and midnight sun, sun just goes round in the sky and never goes down, it starts early june and last over a month. :)

We have four bedroom house in countryside by river and fields. Sweden border 6km, skicenter, hikingcenter Ylläs 40 km (30 minutes drive) away, Levi skicenter 80 km away (1hour drive). In Ylläs and Levi there is very much to do in the winter and also in summer. Countless Hikingroutes and crosscountry skiroutes and Downhill skiing of course. Ylläs-Pallas nationalpark too. Visit to see. Nearest city is Rovaniemi, city of Santa, about 170 km, 2 hours drive. In wintertime santa usually visit in Ylläs too.
Car is necessary to have and is provided from the airport. Food and other thigs you need, you can buy from Kolari (5km) village or Pajala village (25km) in Sweden.

Snowslide and river very near the house. Beautiful view and very quiet neighbourghood. You can do various of things here for example icefish, paddle with kayak, swim, bike to the village Kolari or to Sweden or just enjoy peace and quite. We have bikes for you to borrow and tramboline too in the summer.
We have wireless Wifi in the house, Disney+, Nintendo Switch and PS4 with games to play, and quite large collection of toys, legos an stuff.
Fishermans likes to know that the river next to us is Tornion-Muonionjoki, the longest free running Salmonriver there is in the world. Salmons are big here, average weight about 8 kg, but big ones might be over 20 kg. If you eant you can drive to fishingcenter in Lappea (20 km) to rent a boat and some gears to fish day and night.
Nearest airport in Kittilä and in Rovaniemi and in Sweden Luleå (Kallax), train comes all the way from Helsinki to Kolari overnight, we can help with logistic.

We like animals and have a cat. We like you to take care of our cat for us. But If you dont want to, it is not a problem, cat can stay elsewhere during your visit. And if you want to bring your own pet, that can be arranged too.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 2 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Manager

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Park / playground
  • BBQ
  • Sauna private
  • Bicycles: 3


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy
  • Use of boat
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Spain
  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • Slovenia
  • Austria
  • Portugal
  • Iceland
  • Greece
  • Sicily, Italy
  • Germany
  • Norway
  • Slovakia
  • England, UK
  • Estonia
  • Russia
  • New York, NY, USA

Spoken Languages

  • English
  • Suomeksi
  • Svenska

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Kittilä - 80 km

  • forest Forest is all around us (0.2 km)
  • boating Riverboat, canoe or kajak (0.5 km)
  • river Tornio-Muonioriver (0.0 km)

Quiet countryside in a big island. Close we have Muonioriver, and fell Ylläs, half hour drive, Olos and Pallas and also Levi 1hour drive.

Translate this


  • Manager


  • Boy - Age: 12
  • Boy - Age: 14


  • Cat

About Our Family

We are family of three living in this house. Mother Jonna, 44, and my two sons Salomon 13 and Iisak 11. We travel all together or just part of us. Also two adult boys living already on their own can join us to our journeys.
I, Jonna, work as a manager in development in middle sized media corporation. I can work anywhere and like to also travel alone so even small apartments can suit us.

We have also a cat. Our friendly cat Jouko will not travel but will stay to the house if you can give him food and water and let him in or out if he wants to. Jouko survive perfectly few days on his own too, if you do longer trips. If you dont want to take care of the cat, its not a problem. Cat can also stay elsewhere.

Translate this


We like to have new experiences and learn from other cultures and places. For us is important to learn our children to be open to the world, new places and experiences. Our home is beautiful, neat and spacious even for a big family. We are neat and will take good care about your home. :)

Translate this


This member has completed 2 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: