Back
CA1005409

Nanaimo, Canada

House exterior

House exterior

House exterior
Bronze

Member since

2014


Open for exchange

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Watch the ferries come and go

My home is located on Departure Bay in Nanaimo, BC, with a panoramic view of the bay and out to Georgia Strait. I am a 10 minute drive from downtown Nanaimo and close to beaches, theatre, restaurants, shopping. Nanaimo is mid-Vancouver Island, 1 1/2 hours from Victoria and three hours from Pacific Rim National Park.

Nanaimo is a city of 86,000 and is the shopping and entertainment centre for the mid-island. Major retailers are located here, two cinema complexes, an 800-seat theatre and a thriving music scene make it a great place to live. There are several public beaches, including one a five-minute walk from my house. There is a public beach access directly across the street. Another popular park with a public beach is 3.5 kilometres down the road. Nanaimo offers a variety of restaurants including some fine dining and some great pubs. A bus runs along my road with service to downtown and shopping areas. There are many regional parks offering easy walks and more rigorous hikes, mountain bike paths. Boating is available year-round, with small boat rentals not far away.

Vancouver Island has the mildest climate in Canada. Our summers are usually dry and sunny with temperatures up to 28• and our winters rainy and mild, around 5• - 10•. Spring and Fall are both nice times of year, with variable weather. We enjoy boating year-round. There is a ski hill a two-hour drive away with both downhill and cross-country skiing.

Read more

Our Family

  • 1 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made

Occupation

  • I am a retired Social Worker.

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 2
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 4

References

In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange

Indoor

  • Free internet access
  • Computer available
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano

Outdoor

  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • Balcony
  • BBQ

Facilities

  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • England, UK
  • New Zealand
  • New York, NY, USA
  • Scotland, UK
  • New England
  • North Carolina, USA
  • South Carolina, USA
  • Hawaii, USA
  • Ireland

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

Nearest Airport: Nanaimo Airport, YCD - 18 KM, 20 minute drive

  • beach beach access (0.0 km)
  • boating sailing, kayaking, rowing (0.2 km)
  • sea Departure Bay (0.6 km)

Looking out on Departure Bay

Occupation

  • I am a retired Social Worker.

Children

  • We do not have children.

Pets

  • We do not have pets.

References

This member has completed 2 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: